Welcome, Friend!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

advertisement

Quick Start Forum Video Tutorial

Forum-Tutorial-Screenshot

In this Discussion

There are no medical professionals on this forum side of the site. Therefore, no one is capable or permitted to provide any type of medical advice.
This includes any analysis, interpretation, or advice based on any diagnostic test

The main site has all the formal medical articles and videos for you to research on.
advertisement

We're building a better forum experience with you in mind. Beginning June 26, 2019, all Veritas Health forums will move to forum.veritashealth.com.

Learn More

Years of pain, but recent severe spinal stenosis diagnosis, what exercises are safe?

Hi, I'm a newb. :)  I have been reading other posts and hearing so many similarities with myself, I felt I could get some good advice here. 

I have been suffering from right hip/buttock pain for many years. Thought it was many things and tried many things, but always as it related to hip muscle/bone/etc, and never resolved the pain. Even the first Dr (Xrays only) pointed to a weakened hip and prescribed PT, but that didn't resolve my pain either. A year later, around June 2017, I couldn't take it anymore and went to another Dr who did an MRI and saw the severe lumbar spinal stenosis at L4-L5. Two other MRIs, done because of other possible spine issues, revealed cervical spinal stenosis and a long, 3mm diameter (thickest point) thoracic hydromyelia. Saw a neurosurgeon who steered me away from surgery, for now.