Welcome, Friend!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

advertisement

Quick Start Forum Video Tutorial

Forum-Tutorial-Screenshot
There are no medical professionals on this forum side of the site. Therefore, no one is capable or permitted to provide any type of medical advice.
This includes any analysis, interpretation, or advice based on any diagnostic test

The main site has all the formal medical articles and videos for you to research on.
advertisement

We're building a better forum experience with you in mind. Beginning June 26, 2019, all Veritas Health forums will move to forum.veritashealth.com.

Learn More

Newbi and new to this pain.

Hello all, I'm new to the site via an artical on Recovery by Dilauro, that artical has helped me understand what i'm going through and what to expect, i wish i would have read it before my surgery, anyway, I'm a retired New Orleans Firefighter with 33 years of service, I'm 63 yo. and I'm still in decent shape, I'm in the gym 2/3 times  per week, I've been Spinning since 2010 and I love it, 33 years of running into burning buildings has taken it's toll on my body, I've been involved in several ceiling and roof collapse, as a result I had to have my C4-C5 disc replaced in 2010, I had a good recovery and was back to work in 6 weeks, against my doctors wishes , he really wanted me to retire than but I went back for two more years, I just wasn't ready mentally, in that two years I did get hit on the head again so 2 weeks ago I had another surgery, C5-C6 disc replacement, the post-op pain is excruciating ( shoulders, back of neck, top of my arms )  and the Norco didn't seem to slow it down, I've had okay days and bad days and i have asked myself the ?, what the hell was I thinking having this surgery , but I have a strong determination to get pass this , Dilauro's artical was on point, It's nice to see I'm not inventing anything here so I've got my work cut out for me, I stopped ta