Welcome, Friend!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

advertisement

Quick Start Forum Video Tutorial

Forum-Tutorial-Screenshot
There are no medical professionals on this forum side of the site. Therefore, no one is capable or permitted to provide any type of medical advice.
This includes any analysis, interpretation, or advice based on any diagnostic test

The main site has all the formal medical articles and videos for you to research on.
advertisement

We're building a better forum experience with you in mind. Beginning June 26, 2019, all Veritas Health forums will move to forum.veritashealth.com.

Learn More

ALIF 3 weeks ago

patgibson93ppatgibson93 Posts: 67
edited 06/11/2012 - 8:51 AM in Recovering from Surgery
Hi everyone - I'm new to this, but I've really made use of this site over the past 18 months. I had an L5-S1 ALIF 3 weeks ago. I injured my back 18 months previously and followed a conservative treatment plan which included 3 epidurals, months of PT, and pain management. Surgery went well, although I had to spend an extra night in the hospital. The first 2 weeks were rough but my surgeon put me in an Aspen Quick-Draw orthosis which has increased my comfort. Although I knew this was going to be big surgery, but I don't think I was really prepared for how wiped out I was going to be. It will be 3 more weeks before I see my surgeon again. If the Xrays still look good I will start a walking program. For now I walk around our house as much as I can. It's not much, but I'm not up to much more than that. The good news is that the unrelenting preop pain has been replaced by surgical pain. The numbness & tingling in my sciatic nerve has diminished as long as I don't sit very long. So I will continue my recumbant existence and post updates as I progress. Trying to remain positive!
Pat Gibson
L5S1 ALIF 2-22-11
Now L4 Retrolisthisis
advertisement

Comments