Welcome, Friend!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

advertisement

Quick Start Forum Video Tutorial

Forum-Tutorial-Screenshot
There are no medical professionals on this forum side of the site. Therefore, no one is capable or permitted to provide any type of medical advice.
This includes any analysis, interpretation, or advice based on any diagnostic test

The main site has all the formal medical articles and videos for you to research on.
advertisement

We're building a better forum experience with you in mind. Beginning June 26, 2019, all Veritas Health forums will move to forum.veritashealth.com.

Learn More

After surgery

How long did you wait after surgery ro go in for appts like dental checkups and for women annual pap?
I just had my dental cleaning in November so it got me thinking about how long after surgery to wait since I make sure I'm in there every 6 months. ( I got my dental hygiene degree lol so I am very careful with my teeth even though I never did more than subbing and realized my back couldn't take it and there really were no jobs either)
Anyway I like to plan things and thought maybe someone could tell me their experience.
Thanks 

advertisement

Comments

• hvillshhvills Suzhou, ChinaPosts: 996

Rae1112...

I don't know if there is a specified time period post-op but I do know that anytime you do go to the dentist post-op you should take some antibiotics beforehand as it seems you can develop serious infections in your body due to certain bacteria in your mouth being stirred up that can react with the metal hardware in your body.  There doesn't seem to be 100% agreement on this point amongst various doctors but there are LOTS of post on this forum and elsewhere that discuss this topic... and most seem to conclude it's better to be safe than sorry.  Just search "dentist antibiotics" and you will find lots of discussions both for and against.

Harry - 65 year old male...